2023 Officials Quiz

1. What is it called when a quizzer answers three questions incorrectly?
A. Strike out

B. Error out

C. Quiz out backwards

(Page 8, Scoring, Quiz Outs, Strike Outs, and Foul Outs, #3)

2. Who may request permission to Confer, and who may he Confer with?

A. Any active quizzer or the captain may request to Confer, and may only Confer with his other
active quizzers.

B. Only the captain may request to Confer with his other active quizzers.

C. Only the quizzer who is ruled incorrect may request to Confer with all active quizzers and the
head coach.

(Page 9, Conferring)

3. Where must a Confer take place?
A. Near the officials.

B. At the table.

C. Behind the table with the entire team.
(Page 9, Conferring)

4. What is the head coach allowed to do during a Confer by his team?

A. May Confer with all the active quizzers at the table and may bring any materials to use during
the Confer.

B. Talk to his assistant coaches and substitute quizzers.

C. May only come to the table to listen to the Conferring by his quizzers but may not join in the
conversation.

(Page 9, Conferring)

5. True or False. Any active quizzer may verbally request for the head coach to join the
Confer.

A. True

B. False

(Page 9, Conferring)

6. True or False. Coaches and inactive quizzers who request to Contest will receive a team
foul.

A. True

B. False

(Page 10, Team Fouls)

7. True or False. A team foul is not given for any team member who requests a fourth time-
out.

A. True

B. False

(Page 10, Team Fouls)



8. What is the first step for the Timekeeper when the Quizmaster grants a Contest?
A. Start a three-minute timer.

B. Start a thirty-second timer and allow it to continue until it expires.

C. Start a two-minute and thirty-second timer and allow it to continue until it expires.
(Page 14, Timekeeper, #4 a.)

9. How long is a team initiating a Contest given to prepare and present their Contest?
A. Three minutes.

B. Two minutes.

C. Two minutes and thirty seconds.

(Page 14, Timekeeper, #4)

10. The following question and answer appears on your question set:

Question number 1 for 10 points. Jesus came into the world to save whom?

(1Tim 1:15 sinners)

The quizzer interrupts on the word “save” and completes the question with the word
“what.”

Is the completion of that question correct?

A. It’s correct because the quizzer can interchange a “who” or a “whom” with a “what” for a
group.

B. It’s incorrect because “sinners” are a who and not a what.

C. It’s incorrect because it doesn’t ask the same basic question and contains incorrect
information.

(Page 17, What Makes an Answer Correct, Interrupted Questions, #1, d., iv.)

11. How many Contests can a team initiate?

A. Teams are only allowed three Contests per match.

B. There is no limit to the number of Contests a team can initiate during a match.
C. Teams can initiate Contests until they have three unsuccessful Contests.
(Page 28, General Rules Regarding Contesting, #1)

12. True or False. A multi-issue Contest may be presented concerning multiple issues
including validity.

A. True

B. False

(Page 28, General Rules Regarding Contesting, #6)

13. When a multi-issue Contest is presented that includes validity, what must the officials
rule on first?

A. Each issue is ruled on in the order that they were presented until one is accepted or all are
denied.

B. The validity issue is ruled on first regardless of the order in which the issues were presented.
C. If the team does not present validity first in their multi-issue Contest, then the officials must
disregard it.

(Page 30, Quizmaster and Judges Contesting Procedures, #7)



14. If after Conferring a quizzer decides not to Contest, do they forfeit their right to any
further Contesting on that question?

A. Yes, and it doesn’t matter in what situation or if they change their mind.

B. Yes, unless immediately after the decision not to Contest another team member requests to
Contest.

C. No, because teams always have the right to Contest at any time.

(Page 28, General Rules Regarding Contesting, #8)

15. A team starts presenting their contest immediately after the Quizmaster grants it. The
thirty-second timer sounds and then the team withdraws the Contest. Is the team allowed to
withdraw at this point and use one of their time-outs instead of taking an unsuccessful
Contest?

A. Yes, because no matter what phase that the Contest is in a team has the right to withdraw
during, at, or just after the first thirty seconds and use a time-out instead of taking an unsuccessful
Contest.

B. No, because once a team has decided to present the Contest they are committed to that Contest
and withdrawing would then be an unsuccessful Contest.

C. No. A team can always withdraw during the first thirty seconds and use a time-out instead of
taking an unsuccessful Contest, but they must do so before the first sound of the first thirty-
second timer going off.

(Page 29, Team Contesting and Responding Procedures, #2 a.)

16. The following question and answer appears on your question set:

Question number 3 for 10 points. From 2 John chapter 1.

The word "chosen'" is used to describe what?

(2J 1:1 lady)

The quizzer interrupts after the word “chosen” and finishes the question with “is used to
describe whom?”

Is the completion of that question correct?

A. No, because it doesn’t ask the same basic question because there is a big difference between a
“whom” and a “what.”

B. No, because it does not require the same answer as the official question and it contains
incorrect information.

C. Yes, because a quizzer is allowed to interchange who/whom for what or vice versa if the
object is a group(s) or a role(s).

(Page 17, What Makes An Answer Correct, Interrupted Questions#l, d., iv.)



